Kate Middleton and TikTok!

This detailed log captures my media consumption over the 24-hour period, ranging from music and podcasts to TV shows and social media platforms, providing a snapshot of how I stayed entertained during recovery from my wisdom teeth surgery.

Wednesday, March 20th:

8:30 a.m.: Listened to 93.7 KRQ, the Tucson station, on the way to my wisdom teeth appointment. Also streamed Ariana Grande’s new album “Eternal Sunshine” on Spotify for some pre-appointment tunes.

11:00 a.m.: Post-appointment, watched Netflix. Enjoyed Ariana Grande’s concert movie and “13 Going on 30” for some light entertainment.

12:00 p.m.: Woke up from a nap to find hilarious and emotional Snapchat videos I sent to friends while still under anesthesia. Checked in with my work group chat on GroupMe to update them on my recovery.

12:30 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.: Scrolled through TikTok, watching recipe videos for soft foods and whatever was on my For You Page (FYP). I encountered a lot of memes about Kate Middleton and how she has been trending lately. I took another nap to rest up.

4:00 p.m.: Had a smoothie and yogurt while watching “Abbott Elementary” on Hulu, enjoying some comedy during recovery.

5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m.: Shared some of my favorite SNL skits on YouTube with my sister while indulging in ice cream.

Before bed: Watched “The Smurfs” on Peacock with my mom, winding down for the night. Spent some time scrolling through TikTok to distract myself from discomfort before falling asleep around 9:30 p.m. This time there were surgeon videos on how wisdom teeth procedures are done. There was also content on the Nickelodeon drama following the release of the HBO documentary “Quiet on Set”. 

Thursday, March 21st:

6:00 a.m.: Started the day watching the morning news on ABC, keeping track of meds and food intake for recovery.7:30 a.m.: Continued with film media consumption, watching the movie “Monster in Law” on Hulu for some morning entertainment.

Like many public figures, Kate Middleton is subject to speculation and conspiracy theories on social media platforms like TikTok. Users may create memes or videos discussing rumors about her personal life, marriage, or background, although these often lack credibility. There were speculations that she underwent plastic surgery, is getting a divorce, and even that she died. This is not credible information. She in fact has since announced today that she is undergoing treatment for cancer. 

This is true for a great deal of the content on social media, including the memes I was passively consuming during this time. TikTok content can be questionable in terms of credibility due to several factors. Firstly, the platform’s algorithm prioritizes engagement and virality, often pushing sensational or clickbait content over factual information. This can lead to the spread of misinformation and rumors, as users likely prioritize entertainment over accuracy. Additionally, the short-form nature of TikTok videos can make it challenging to provide nuanced or comprehensive explanations, leading to oversimplification or distortion of complex topics. Furthermore, the lack of oversight and fact-checking mechanisms on TikTok means users are responsible for evaluating the credibility of the content they encounter, which can result in the proliferation of misleading or inaccurate information. 

As a result of these considerations, I approach media consumption with a healthy dose of skepticism and critical thinking. I understand that not all content on social media platforms may be credible, and it is essential to verify claims or information before accepting them as truth. Instead of passively consuming media, I actively engage with it, questioning the sources, motives, and potential biases behind the content. I prioritize seeking out reliable news sources or official statements to verify claims, especially when it comes to sensitive topics or public figures. Additionally, I am cautious about sharing or endorsing content that lacks credibility, as spreading misinformation can have detrimental effects on individuals and society as a whole. Therefore, I take proactive steps to verify the credibility of media content before sharing or engaging with it, ensuring that I am not contributing to the spread of false narratives or misinformation.

Leave a comment

Quote of the week

"People ask me what I do in the winter when there's no baseball. I'll tell you what I do. I stare out the window and wait for spring."

~ Rogers Hornsby

Designed with WordPress